Best. Weekend. Ever.

I’ve kind of put off writing about last weekend, first because it was so fabulous that it was hard to tear myself away from the weekend so I COULD write about it, and second because once I got back to Washington it was sad and rainy and… full of work… and it wasn’t easy to dwell on the wonderful New Mexico. But I think I’m okay now. 🙂

For one thing, I met my goal of eating green chile with every meal. Everything was pretty awesome, but I think the highlight was the chile rellenos at Si Senor. Or the tamales from Roberto’s. And Blake’s officially has a way better green chile cheeseburger than Whataburger. By a mile.

And the hockey! I was so stoked! I went to the high school game Friday night, and like three minutes after I showed up, one of my hockey buddies called me from another buddy’s phone, because our other hockey buddy’s mom had seen me at the game and called him, and they told me that the three of them (and a few more hockey players) were already over at somebody’s house drinking beers! So I got to hang out with them right away! Then on Saturday we played hockey for a few hours, drank some beers, played hockey again, and went out for Mexican food. As if that wasn’t enough for a fantastic day, when we came out of the restaurant there was a full mariachi band across the street in someone’s front yard, singing Las Mananitas, which my family can tell you is my most favorite song ever. I have never, ever just bumped into a mariachi band in Washington State. That kind of stuff doesn’t happen up here.

And of course my family, who I missed SO much. So much. It was so fantastic to hang out with them. I think our weekend family dinners is the thing I miss the most about New Mexico. Add a couple of my best friends and my dog into that mix, and I am a happy, happy girl.

So there you have it. Family, friends, sunshine, green chile, doggies, hockey, beer, Las Mananitas… the only way this weekend could have been more fun is if it had been Halloween, which, by the way, I am SO THERE. 😀

Leave a comment

Filed under culture shock, family, friends, green chile, hockey, las cruces, moving, seattle, Uncategorized, work

Leave a comment